SET YOUR VEHICLE
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $70!
Order Now, Pay Later
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
LOWEST PRICE
Guaranteed

Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit

MODEL # TER4838900

$927.99


13 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(12)
4 Stars
(1)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit ( Part Number: 4838900)
Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit ( Part Number: 4838900)
Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit ( Part Number: 4838900)
Impressed so far 2 months ago
5out of 5stars
BDinTX
I got this hinge kit because my hinges had started to squeak after going to 37" tires. I'd already installed the adjustable carrier so it was convenient that I could just get the hinges separately. Pulling it out of the box I was surprised by how heavy it was. The instructions were clear and installation went pretty much as described. The swing gate closes MUCH smoother now, the hinge pins look to be twice the diameter of stock and the knuckles are have a lot more material. Overall, love the product, don't love the price. I did find my tailgate sticking out a little too far on the latch side towards the end of the install. I thought adjusting the striker plate would be easy but that turned into a real ordeal. If you need to do the same, take the time to find a way to mark the current position of the striker plate. Keep in mind your adjustment should be very small and there are two click positions on the latch. I pushed the striker plate all the way forwards and didn't realize the door latch was stopping on the first click and leaving the door sticking out more than it was to begin with. For some reason this form won't let me link the video of the hinge gate https://youtube.com/shorts/m5Ynu5qkRI0?feature=share
  
Was this review helpful?
TERAFLEX ALPHA HD HINGED SPARE TIRE CARRIER 2 months ago
5out of 5stars
Don L.
Installed this on our Jeep Wrangler JL last week and it made a big difference. My tailgate opens easy now and it took all the tire weight off my tailgate. High quality from Teraflex. My whole Jeep JL is a riding Teraflex advertisement it seems. From my Alpine 4" full lift, adjustable shocks, tie rods, track bars, and on and on it goes. LOL It appears Teraflex makes high quality stuff, if it says Teraflex is it top quality. Thanks Teraflex for another great product!
  
Was this review helpful?
Game Changer 4 months ago
5out of 5stars
shell
This Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit was a game changer for my husband's JLU Jeep. He wanted to modify the back end but need a way to support the spare tire and anything that would be attached to the tire. (Such as mud tracks, gas cans, trasharoos, etc.) This tire carrier allowed for extra weight and offered a much thinner and easier to use option. My husband loves it and has never looked back after installing it. Installing was also pretty straightforward.
  
Was this review helpful?
Fits well 6 months ago
5out of 5stars
Bemhoff
after about 2 years, NO issues at all and looks like the day i installed it. I installed along with the Alpha tire carrier and the combination works as designed. Only complaint I have is that the little rubber inserts they give you for the threaded accessory holes I have lost from being blown out with the pressure washer. Need to come up with a better solution for this.
  
Was this review helpful?
Works Great! Solid! 6 months ago
5out of 5stars
Chill
This carrier is very well engineered and solid. Love it! It's a little more pricey than some of the others, but the quality is well worth it. Its engineered to curve with the slight curvature of the tailgate, something others don't have. Installation wasn't bad at all - took me an afternoon, but then I'm super slow. I have a 37" tire mounted on it - total weight with wheel is about 120 lbs. This carrier handles it with no problem - no vibrations, shaking, noise, etc. Love that it has pre-tapped holes for mounting accessories.
  
Was this review helpful?
SOLID!!!! 11 months ago
5out of 5stars
JL-WarMachine
I have a have 35" with a heavy rim. No matter what I did to elevate the creeks / cracks/ (insert your own noise), I couldn't get it to stop. I installed the Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit. Super easy to install with the detailed instructions that are provided. All noises that I once heard, all disappeared. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. The coating all the way around this carrier is top notch! The price hurts a bit, I would pay it again to stop the noises!!!!!
  
Was this review helpful?
Rock Solid 1 year ago
5out of 5stars
Bemhoff
Well designed, solid built with excellent finish. Carrie's my 113# tire and wheel combo with no issues. Would recommend.
  
Was this review helpful?
Super Sexy and does its intended job very well 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
4xeinstein
I was hanging 2 mountain bikes off a spare tire bike rack and it caused the factory setup to sag which is why I purchased this. The install was pretty involved so I wouldnt call it "easy" as you're pull a fair portion of your rear interior out to get to the hinge bolts. Then I had issues getting it aligned properly and required some massaging to get it good. You have to install it with the weight you'll usually be using so I put the 35 on back and all is good. A few weeks later I put the bikes on and was sad to see it still sagged quite a bit. :( For normal day to day and trail riding I do feel better about having this on and I actually got rear ended recently...this thing took the hit surprisingly well.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Tire Carrier 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
Randy F
Installation was a breeze. Was able to install without the need for someone else to help hold it. A little on the pricey side but well worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Amazing product 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
kheidolph
I've gone through several tire carriers at this point on my '18 JLUR. This is hands down the best carrier I've used. Great instructions, quality, and functionally. I run 37" tires and the fit is perfect. I got back a lot of my rear window visibility. Best part is the tailgate swings like there is nothing on it, it closes solid, and there is no vibration. I highly recommend this carrier. It's a complicated install, but worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Amazing tire carrier 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
kheidolph
I've gone through several tire carriers at this point on my '18 JLUR. This is hands down the best carrier I've used. Great instructions, quality, and functionally. I run 37" tires and the fit is perfect. I got back a lot of my rear window visibility. Best part is the tailgate swings like there is nothing on it, it closes solid, and there is no vibration. I highly recommend this carrier. It's a complicated install, but worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Teraflex JL Alpha HD hinged tire carrier 3 years ago
5out of 5stars
Jayrob
This product does exactly what it’s supposed to do. With my oversized and over weight spare on the tailgate I can hit any terrain and never hear a sound out of the rear. Love it!
  
Was this review helpful?
Teraflex for the win 1 year ago
4out of 5stars
‘21 JLUR
So this big thick boi is just what you need for your oversized wheel/tire combo. I’m rocking 37’s on heaven beadlock 17’s. The puny mopar reenforcement bracket was not cutting it. Instructions were alright and fit finish was pretty good. There was some cosmetic issues on top of the top hinge. I’m sure I could have contacted them but it was not that big of a deal to me.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit - JL
User Media for: Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit - JL
User Media for: Teraflex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier Kit - JL